You are here: Home / People / Research Clusters / Social Transformations

Social Transformations

How do social changes, large and small, occur? Social institutions and organizational and cultural structures often seem durable to the point of inertia, yet change can happen both gradually and quickly. Classic sociological interests in social transformation tended to focus on “big” changes – state crises, revolutions, colonialism, and long-term economic development. These interests continue today. However, the historical and comparative methodologies once reserved for the study of major transformations are increasingly deployed today in the study of a much wider variety of social fields, their institutional patterns, and lifeworldly practices – from political shifts, social movements, and economic change to organizational and interorganizational network structures, social fields and their dynamics and interactions, and shifts in patterns of action and culture.

The substantive topics of research on social transformations include diverse topics, for example, state formations, bureaucracy, crime and deviance, migration, violence, politics, law, medicine, systems of beliefs and values, racial relations, and identities. Yet researchers interested in these diverse topics share a conviction that the comparative and historical study of institutions and social fields, in relation to culture and practice, can yield new discoveries about the shared dynamics that drive change in different arenas.

Cluster Related Graduate Courses

Sociology 225: Sociology of Culture

Sociology 242a and 242b: Research Methods in Historical and Comparative Sociology

Sociology 215: Economy, Polity and Society.

Sociology 248: Social Movements

Sociology 254: Sociology of Health Care

Sociology 295 Topics Courses:

Categories, Boundaries, and Identities

Nations and Nationalism

The Political Economy of Neoliberalism

The Welfare State

People specializing in this area

Faculty
Carroll, Patrick
  • Associate Professor
pcarroll@ucdavis.edu
916-420-2756
2272 SS&H
Spring 2017: MW 12:30-1:30 or by Appointment
Halfmann, Drew
  • Associate Professor
dhalfmann@ucdavis.edu
2270 SS&H
Winter 2017: W 2-3pm, and by appointment
Hibel, Jacob
  • Associate Professor
jhibel@ucdavis.edu
2240 SS&H
Spring 2017: Mon. 10:00-12:00
  • http://jhibel.faculty.ucdavis.edu/
  • Lo, Ming-Cheng
    • Professor
    mmlo@ucdavis.edu
    2269 SS&H
    Winter 2017 Tuesdays 10:30-12:15
  • http://sociology.ucdavis.edu/people/szmclo
  • Mudge, Stephanie
    • Assistant Professor
    mudge@ucdavis.edu
    2257 SS&H (Entrance off of A St., 2nd floor)
    Winter 2017: M 2:30-4:30
    Shu, Xiaoling
    • Professor,Graduate Director and Vice Chair
    • 教授,副系主任,研究生主任
    xshu@ucdavis.edu
    530-754-0771
    2274 Social Sciences & Humanities
    Teaching Soc 46B Winter 2017. Hours: Mon,Wed 11-1pm
  • http://xshu.faculty.ucdavis.edu/
  • https://shu.youcanbook.me/
  • U, Eddy
    • Associate Professor
    eu@ucdavis.edu
    2248 SS&H
    Winter 2017: Friday 11-12
    Wolf, Diane
    • Professor
    • Director, Jewish Studies Program
    dlwolf@ucdavis.edu
    2267 SS&H
    Winter 2017. T/R 10:30-11:30am
    Graduate Students
    Feldman, Valerie
    • PhD Candidate
    vafeldman@ucdavis.edu
    254 SS&H
    By appointment only
    Halpin, Brian
    • Lecturer
    bwhalpin@ucdavis.edu
    256 SS&H
    T: 2-4 or by appointment
  • http://poverty.ucdavis.edu/profile/brian-halpin
  • Haraway, Sam
    • PhD Candidate
    sqharaway@ucdavis.edu
    258 SS&H
    Winter 2017: Tuesday 10:30am-12:30pm
    Hayes, Joshua
    • Graduate Student, Lecturer
    hayes@ucdavis.edu
    259 SS&H
    I do not have office hours this quarter. Please contact me via email.
    Jeffrey, Phyllis
    • PhD Candidate
    phjeffrey@ucdavis.edu
    254 SS&H
    Monday 6:15-7:15pm Wednesday 10:30-11:30am
    Kutzleb, Jennifer
    • PhD Candidate
    jjkutzleb@ucdavis.edu
    282 SS&H
    by appointment
    Menard, Nathen menardn@ucdavis.edu
    261 SSH
    Wednesday 2-3PM; Thursday 4:45 - 5:45PM.
    Miller, Amara
    • Graduate Student
    marmiller@ucdavis.edu
    254 SS&H
    Tuesdays 12 - 2 pm in 254 SS&H
  • http://amaralmiller.wixsite.com/educator
  • Wright, Duane dewright@ucdavis.edu
    294 SS&H
    Winter 2016: Friday 12-1 and 3-4
    Emeriti
    Hall, John
    • Research Professor
    jrhall@ucdavis.edu
    By appointment via email.
  • https://ucdavis.academia.edu/JohnHall
  • Research Professors
    Hall, John
    • Research Professor
    jrhall@ucdavis.edu
    By appointment via email.
  • https://ucdavis.academia.edu/JohnHall
  • Sociology

    1283 Social Sciences & 
    Humanities 
    University of California, 
    Davis 
    One Shields Avenue 
    Davis, CA 95616

    (530) 752-0782 phone
    (530) 752-0783 fax

    Map and Additional Contact Information

    Make a Gift

    Giving matters at UC Davis. For more than a century, donors have been helping the university address the issues that matter most to California, the nation and the world.  The Department of Sociology is dedicated to achieving excellence. Your gift can help.

    Make a gift