Previous Recipients

2015   Ruthie Rothstein: "Marijuana & The Media: The Influence of Media Narratives on Legalization Outcomes." (Faculty Nominator: Ryan Finnigan)


2014   Shadd Cabalatungan: "The Consequences of Alcohol Consumption for Drinking and Non-Drinking Students." (Faculty Nominator: Bill McCarthy)


2013   Shannon Carter: "To Stop or not to Stop? An Analysis of Cyclists' Compliance or Noncompliance with Stop Signs." (Faculty Nominator: Bill McCarthy)


2012   Ashlyn Jaeger: "Panic over Sexting: Regulating Sexuality in the Age of New Media Technology." (Faculty Nominator: Maxine Craig)


2011   Laurel K. Phelan: "Is Alcoholics Anonymous a Religious Organization? Comparing Alcoholics Anonymous to Evangelical Christians." (Faculty Nominator: John Hall)


2010   Victor Martinez: "Latina/o Students’ College-Choice Process: College Information and Decisions in School Context." (Faculty Nominator: Kerstin Lueck)


Previous Undergraduate Research Award Winners (Prior to the naming of the Lofland Award)

2009     Badiah Haffejee: "Turning Point for Youth: Events that Lead to Desistance." (Faculty Nominator: Bill McCarthy)

2008     Kristina McKibben: "Negotiating Care: Emotion Work Strategies of HIV/AIDS Workers." (Faculty Nominator: Natalia Deeb-Sossa)

2007     Hayley E. Steffen: "Rockers or White Kids? Comparing Boundary Work and Racial Awareness in High School Cliques." (Faculty Nominator: Kerstin Lueck)

2005     Jason K. Logan: "The Extremes of Customer Service: An Ethnography of a Retail Boutique."  (Faculty Nominator: Lyn H. Lofland)

2004     Nichole Zlatunich:  "Prom Dreams and Prom Reality: Girls' Resistance and AAccommodation to Dominant Representations of the High School Prom."  (Faculty Nominator: Laura Grindstaff)

2004     Kathleen P. Feehan:  "What Happens to Freshmen's Political Orientations During Their First Year: A Quantitative Evaluation of Factors Associated With Student Attitude Change."  (Faculty Nominator:  Eric Grodsky)

2003     Robin Pleau:  "Studying While "Old": How Midlife Women Students Experience and Cope with Age Difference in the University."  (Faculty Nominator: Kimberlee Shauman)

2001    JoAnne Delfino:  "Navigating Obstacles with Limited Commitment: Understanding Why Women Leave Engineering."  (Faculty Nominator: Sean O'Riain)

2000     Stephanie Welch:  "Advocating for the De-Stigmatization of Mental Illness: Ideological Foundations, Framing Tactics, and Possibilities of Forging a New Social Movement."  (Faculty Nominator: Laura Grindstaff)

1999    Carey Gray: "Maybe to You We're Disabled, but Not to Us: Ability, Disability, and the Construction of Deaf Identity."  (Faculty Nominator:  Patrick Carroll)

1998    Sarah Knofel:  "Gendered Organizations: A Comparative Study of The Boy Scouts and Girl Scouts."  (Faculty Nominator: Vicki Smith)

1996    Michael E. Ezell:  "Modeling the Recidivism Among Young Parolees With Varying Ages: The Applicability and Utility of the Cox Proportional Hazards Model."  (Faculty Nominator: Larry Cohen)

1995     Amy Mannila:  "Envy and Competition in Same-Sex Friends."  (Faculty Nominator:  John Hall)

1994     Milmon F. Harrison:  "Greater Than the Former…: Observations on the Construction of Community within the Pentecostal Tradition."  (Faculty Nominator: Lyn Lofland)

1993     Ronald Ruggiero:  "Reform in Retreat: France, 1981-83."







1283 Social Sciences & 
University of California, 
One Shields Avenue 
Davis, CA 95616

(530) 752-0782 phone
(530) 752-0783 fax

Map and Additional Contact Information

Make a Gift

Giving matters at UC Davis. For more than a century, donors have been helping the university address the issues that matter most to California, the nation and the world.  The Department of Sociology is dedicated to achieving excellence. Your gift can help.

Make a gift