You are here: Home / Undergraduate Program / The John and Lyn Lofland Undergraduate Research Award / Undergraduate Research Award Recipients

Undergraduate Research Award Recipients

Year Student name(s) Thesis Title Professor Advisor(s)

2008 KristinaMcKibben Negotiating Care: Emotion Work Strategies of HIV/AIDS Workers Natalia Deeb-Sossa
2007 Hayley E. Steffen Rockers or White Kids? Comparing Boundary Work and Racial Awareness in High School Cliques Kerstin Lueck
2006 No award  
2005 Sara Atienza and Jason Logan A Second Look at the Model Minority Myth: A Quantitative Analysis of the Academic Readiness of Asian-American Kindergartners Eric Grodsky
2004 Kathleen P. Feehan and Nicole Zlatunich "What Happens to Freshmen's Political Orientations During Their First Year": A Quantitative Evaluation of Factors Associated With Student Attitude Change Eric Grodsky
2003 Robin Pleau Studying While "Old": How Midlife Women Students Experience and Cope with Age Difference in the University Bill McCarthy, Kimberlee Shauman
2002 Brooke Bennett Professionalism and Professional Autonomy: Therapists in an Era of Managed Care Sean O'Rian
2001 JoAnne Delfino Navigating Obstacles with Limited Commitment: Understanding Why Women Leave Engineering Lyn H. Lofland, Sean O'Riain
2000 Stephanie Welch Advocating for the De-Stigmatization of Mental Illness: Ideological Foundations, Framing Tactics, and Possibilities of Forging a New Social Movement Fred Block, Laura Grindstaff
1999 Carey Gray “Maybe to You We’re Disabled, but Not to Us”: Ability, Disability, and the Construction of the Deaf Identity Patrick Carroll
1998 Sarah Knobel    
1997 No award    
1996 Michael Ezell Modeling the Recidivism Among Young Parolees With Varying Ages: The Applicability and Utility of the Cox Proportional Hazards Model John Hall, Larry Cohen
1995 Amy Beth Mannila Camille Fink Envy and Competition in Same-Sex Friends John Hall, Lyn Lofland
1994 Milmon Harrison “Greater Than the Former…”: Observations on the Consturction of Community within the Pentecostal Tradition Lyn Lofland, Marry Jackman
1993 Ronald Ruggerio Reform in Retreat: France 1981-83  
1992 No award    
1991 Anna Cooper    
1990 W. Richard Barrett    
1989 No award    
1988 No award    
1987 Dante DeTablan    
1986 No award    
1985 Deborah Paterniti    
1984 Michael Harrington Deborah Paterniti    


1283 Social Sciences & 
University of California, 
One Shields Avenue 
Davis, CA 95616

(530) 752-0782 phone
(530) 752-0783 fax

Map and Additional Contact Information

Make a Gift

Giving matters at UC Davis. For more than a century, donors have been helping the university address the issues that matter most to California, the nation and the world.  The Department of Sociology is dedicated to achieving excellence. Your gift can help.

Make a gift