You are here: Home / People

People

  1. Faculty
  2. Chief Administrative Officer
  3. Staff
  4. Lecturers
  5. Graduate Students
  6. Emeriti
  7. Postdoctorates
  8. Associated Faculty
  9. Research Professors
  10. On The Job Market
Faculty
Beamish, Thomas
  • Associate Professor
tdbeamish@ucdavis.edu
2271 SS&H
M 2:00-4:00 PM
Carroll, Patrick
  • Associate Professor
pcarroll@ucdavis.edu
916-420-2756
2272 SS&H
On sabbatical.
Faris, Robert
  • Associate Professor
rwfaris@ucdavis.edu
2247 SS&H
Fridays 10-noon
Finnigan, Ryan rfinnigan@ucdavis.edu
2259 SS&H
Wed 11:30 - 1:30
Grattet, Ryken
  • Professor
rtgrattet@ucdavis.edu
2268 SS&H
On Leave 2012-13
Grindstaff, Laura
  • Professor
lagrindstaff@ucdavis.edu
2263 SSH and 153 Kerr
Mondays 3:00-4:30, 153 Kerr
Halfmann, Drew
  • Associate Professor
dhalfmann@ucdavis.edu
2270 SS&H
On sabbatical until Fall 2014
Hall, John
  • Distinguished Professor
jrhall@ucdavis.edu
2246 SS&H
Tuesdays, 1.30 - 3.oopm, or by appointment.
Hamilton, Erin
  • Assistant Professor
erhamilton@ucdavis.edu
2244 SS&H
Wednesdays 12-2
Haynes, Bruce
  • Associate Professor
bdhaynes@ucdavis.edu
2251 SS&H
On Sabbatical until Jan 1, 2015
Hibel, Jacob
  • Assistant Professor
jhibel@ucdavis.edu
2240 SS&H
Wed. 10:00-12:00 or by appointment
Kyle, David
  • Associate Professor
djkyle@ucdavis.edu
2265 SS&H
Thursday 1:00-3:00
Lo, Ming-Cheng
  • Professor
mmlo@ucdavis.edu
2269 SS&H
T TH 3:10-4pm
McCarthy, Bill
  • Professor
bdmccarthy@ucdavis.edu
2238 SS&H
Tuesday and Thursday 2:00-3:00, or by appointment
McCourt, David dmmccourt@ucdavis.edu
Mudge, Stephanie
  • Assistant Professor
mudge@ucdavis.edu
2257 SS&H (Entrance off of A St., 2nd floor)
Thursdays 2-4pm, or by appointment
Shauman, Kimberlee
  • Professor
kashauman@ucdavis.edu
2243 SS&H
Tuesdays 9-11am and by appointment
Shu, Xiaoling
  • Professor
  • Director of Graduate Program
  • Department Vice Chair
  • 教授,副系主任,研究生主任
xshu@ucdavis.edu
530-554-1806
2274 SS&H
Monday 11:30-1:30pm Tuesday Thursday 1:30-2:20pm (graduate students only)
Smith, Vicki
  • Department Chair
vasmith@ucdavis.edu
2261 SS & H
U, Eddy
  • Associate Professor
eu@ucdavis.edu
2248 SS&H
MW 9-10 am
Wolf, Diane
  • Professor
  • Director, Jewish Studies Program
dlwolf@ucdavis.edu
2267 SS&H
R, 1:30-3:30 and by appt.
Chief Administrative Officer
Syed, Erum
  • Chief Administrative Officer, Green Cluster
  • Department of Sociology
  • Department of Anthropology
  • Program in Middle East/South Asian Studies
esyed@ucdavis.edu
(530) 752-9036 Young / (530) 752-8711 SS&H
326 Young Hall & 1292 SS&H Building
9:30am - 5:30pm (Monday) 9:00am - 5:30pm (Tuesday & Wednesday) 326 Young 9:00am - 5:30pm (Thursday & Friday) 1292 SS&H
Staff
Besser, Denise
  • Graduate Program Coordinator
dmbesser@ucdavis.edu
752-4147
327 Young Hall
Young Hall Monday 7:00A-5:30P, Tuesday 7:00A-12:30P, Wednesday 1:00P-5:30P, Thursday 7:00A-5:30P and in 1284 SS&H Tuesday 1:00P-5:30P and Wednesday 7:00A-12:30P Off Every Friday
Calvert, Sheline
  • Account Manager, Departments of Anthropology & Sociology
scalvert@ucdavis.edu
530-752-3576
1287 SS&H
M-F 8:00-4:30
Cordova, Priscilla
  • Program Assistant
  • Department of Anthropology
pacordova@ucdavis.edu
530-752-0745
328 Young Hall
M-F 8:30-5:00
Kisting, Pamela
  • Undergraduate Program Coordinator and Advisor
pkisting@ucdavis.edu
530.752.2873
1284 SS&H
M-F 8:00-4:30
Leaver, Jacqueline
  • Program Assistant
  • Department of Sociology
jjleaver@ucdavis.edu
530.752.0782
1286 SS&H
M-F 8:00-5:00
Miller, MaryJane
  • Chief Financial Officer
  • Departments of Anthropology & Sociology
mjmiller@ucdavis.edu
530-752-8291
1288 Soc Sci & Humn Bldg
M-F 8-12 & 1-5
Ramirez, Michelle
  • Student Assistant
mlramire@ucdavis.edu
1282 SS&H (Main Office)
Sholer, Kelli
  • Undergraduate Advisor, Student Affairs Officer
kmsholer@ucdavis.edu
530.752.4564
1285 SS&H
M-F 9:00-5:30 (9-12/1-4 Advising Hours)
Taylor, RJ
  • Academic Personnel Specialist
arjtaylor@ucdavis.edu
(530) 752-3891
1290 SS&H
M-F 8:00-5:00
Willard, Jennifer
  • Academic Personnel Coordinator
jnwillard@ucdavis.edu
(530) 754-4936
328 B Young Hall
M-F 7:30am - 4:00pm
Lecturers
Augusto, Sarah
  • Lecturer
slaugusto@ucdavis.edu
278 SS&H
R 1:00-3:00P
Becker, Jaime
  • Lecturer
jsbecker@ucdavis.edu
256 SS&H
Tuesdays 2:30-4:30pm or by appt
Gutierrez, Timothy
  • Lecturer
tsgutierrez@ucdavis.edu
248 SS&H
Monday & Wednesday 11-12 and by appointment
Hernandez, Jesus
  • Lecturer
jchernandez@ucdavis.edu
252 SS&H
by appointment
Kiburi, Lalia
  • Lecturer, Continuing Appointment
lhkiburi@ucdavis.edu
2262 SS&H Building
Monday: 2:30-4:30pm Or by Appointment. Please email.
Orzechowicz, David
  • Lecturer
djorzechowicz@ucdavis.edu
SSH 2249
Mondays 3-5pm, in 2249 SSH
Paterniti, Debora
  • Adjunct Professor, Departments of Internal Medicine & Sociology
dapaterniti@ucdavis.edu
2262 SS&H
W 10:30-12noon. dapaterniti@ucdavis.edu
Robert, Ellen
  • Lecturer
errobert@ucdavis.edu
2262 SS&H
Monday 2:30 to 4:00 and by appointment
Ruiz, Miguel maruiz@ucdavis.edu
254 SS&H
N/A
Setele, Julie
  • Lecturer
jasetele@ucdavis.edu
2273 SS&H
TR 10-11:30 am, or by appointment
Sweet, Elizabeth
  • Postdoctoral Scholar
  • Lecturer
evsweet@ucdavis.edu
2249 SS&H
By appointment
Graduate Students
Acosta, Lauren
  • Graduate Student
lmacosta@ucdavis.edu
Arseo, Sean
  • Graduate Student
searseo@ucdavis.edu
SS&H 290
W: 12:10-2:10
Baker, Zeke
  • Graduate Student
ejbaker@ucdavis.edu
292 SS&H
12:00-2:00 Monday, SS/H 292
Baxi, Parul
  • PhD Candidate
pbaxi@ucdavis.edu
282 SS&H
N/A
Boylan, Elizabeth
  • Graduate Student
eaboylan@ucdavis.edu
N/A
N/A
Breuninger, Emily
  • Graduate Student/ TA
ebreuninger@ucdavis.edu
SS&H 284
MW 10am-12pm, or by appointment
Buchanan, Brandon
  • Graduate Student
bkbuchanan@ucdavis.edu
250 SS&H
Mon. 12-1pm, Weds. 12-1pm.
Caldeira, Chris
  • Graduate Student
ccaldeira@ucdavis.edu
250 SS&H
N/A
Carter, Angela
  • Graduate Student
ancarter@ucdavis.edu
278 SS&H
by appointment only
Caviness, Courtney
  • Graduate Student
ccaviness@ucdavis.edu
288 SS&H
W 10:00 AM - 12:00 PM
Chaudhary, Ali
  • 2014-15 U.C. Dissertation-Year Fellow
  • Ph.D. Candidate
alichaudhary@ucdavis.edu
Cell: (707) 599-0561
258 Social Sciences & Humanities Building
By Appointment (email me)
Chen, Jingjing
  • Graduate Student
ajjchen@ucdavis.edu
286 SS&H
Tuesday 2:00-4:00 p.m.
Chiaraluce, Cara
  • Ph.D. Candidate
cchiaraluce@ucdavis.edu
294 SS&H
TR 5-6pm & by appointment. Please e-mail to set-up an appointment.
Clark, Bridget
  • Graduate Student
baclar@ucdavis.edu
290 SS&H
Tuesdays 10:00-12:00, or by appointment
Corwin, Krista
  • Graduate Student
kmcorwin@ucdavis.edu
SS&H 288
Thursday 12:30-2:30
de Andrade, Joel
  • Graduate Student
deandrade@ucdavis.edu
Doan, Connelly
  • Graduate Student
cmdoan@ucdavis.edu
Evans, Ethan
  • PhD Candidate
ejevans@ucdavis.edu
254 SS&H
Thursday 11 a.m. - 1 p.m. and by appt. Instructor (SSII): Soc 143A - Olson Hall 207, TWR 11:00-1:15.
Feldman, Valerie
  • PhD Candidate
vafeldman@ucdavis.edu
254 SS&H
By appointment only
Felice, Samantha
  • Graduate Student
slfelice@ucdavis.edu
290 SS&H
Fields, Christine
  • Graduate Student
cvfields@ucdavis.edu
Florence, Chelsi
  • Graduate Student
ccflorence@ucdavis.edu
SS&H 294
SOC 025 T/R 10:30-11:30am & by appointment
Fortes, Carmen
  • PhD Candidate
cefortes@ucdavis.edu
254 SS&H
By Appointment
Freiburger, Nathaniel
  • Graduate Student
nmfreiburger@ucdavis.edu
258 SS&H
N/A
Geer, Shaun
  • Graduate Student
sgeer@ucdavis.edu
294 SS&H
257 SS&H
Glennie, Charlotte
  • Graduate Student
cfglennie@ucdavis.edu
Grossman, Chloe
  • Graduate Student
cgrossman@ucdavis.edu
Delta of Venus
Thursday 1-3 Delta of Venus on B St.
Hale, jo
  • PhD Student
Johale@ucdavis.edu
290 SS&H
Graduate Research Assistant in Public Health Dept. OH by appt.
Halpin, Brian
  • Graduate Student
bwhalpin@ucdavis.edu
280 SS&H
by appointment
Haraway, Sam
  • PhD Candidate
sqharaway@ucdavis.edu
258 SS&H
Mon & Tues 11-12, and by appt.
Hart, Beth
  • Graduate Student
eahart@ucdavis.edu
286 SS&H
N/A
Hartzog, Cassie
  • Graduate Student
chartzog@ucdavis.edu
250 SS&H
T 9:30-11:30am
Hayes, Joshua
  • Graduate Student
hayes@ucdavis.edu
252 SS&H
Tuesdays and Thursdays from 1:30PM - 2:30 PM, and by appointment.
Haylett, Jennifer
  • Graduate Student
jlhaylett@ucdavis.edu
282 SSH
N/A
Huang, Po-Chun
  • Graduate Student
stvhuang@ucdavis.edu
288 SS&H
Wednesday 10:00am - 12:00pm
Jaeger, Ashlyn
  • Graduate Student
amjaeger@ucdavis.edu
294 SS&H
M/W 12:30-1:30PM
Jeffrey, Phyllis
  • Graduate Student
phjeffrey@ucdavis.edu
254 SS&H
Thursdays, 2:30 to 4:30pm
Kincaid, John
  • Graduate Student
jdkincaid@ucdavis.edu
280 SS&H
On Fellowship 2013/14 - By Appointment Only
Kutzleb, Jennifer
  • PhD Candidate
jjkutzleb@ucdavis.edu
282 SS&H
by appointment
Lauteria, Evan
  • Graduate Student
ewlauteria@ucdavis.edu
250 SS&H
Not teaching this term. Please email for an appointment.
Logan, Shane
  • Graduate Student
splogan@ucdavis.edu
292 SSH
TR 3:30-4:30
McCarty, Kristin
  • Graduate Student
kmccarty@ucdavis.edu
SS&H, Room 286
Tuesday 12:00PM - 2:00PM
McCoy, Jabou
  • Graduate Student
jtmccoy@ucdavis.edu
282 SS&H
Tuesday 4:00pm-6:00pm
Meagher, Kelsey
  • PhD Candidate
kdmeagher@ucdavis.edu
258 SS&H
By appointment
Menard, Nathen ndmenard@ucdavis.edu
250 SS&H
M-W 10-11AM
Miller, Amara
  • Graduate Student
marmiller@ucdavis.edu
288 SS&H
Mondays 2:00 - 3:00 pm Tuesdays 3:00 - 4:00 pm
Mollenhauer, Whitney
  • Graduate Student
wftaylor@ucdavis.edu
282 SS&H
Thurs 11am-12pm
Nguyen, Emerald
  • PhD Candidate
etnguyen@ucdavis.edu
282 SS&H
by appointment only
Nickens, Rachel
  • Graduate Student
renickens@ucdavis.edu
SS&H 278
Tuesday 10:45-11:45 am Friday 10:00-11:00 am By appointment
Phan, Le
  • Graduate Student
lephan@ucdavis.edu
292 SS&H
By appointment
Psick, Zachary
  • Graduate Student
zepsick@ucdavis.edu
Soc 292
N/A
Reosti, Elizabeth
  • Graduate Student
ecreosti@ucdavis.edu
284 SS&H
W 2-4 or by appointment
Richardson, Susan
  • Graduate Student
sdrichardson@ucdavis.edu
284 SS&H
T 1:30-3:30 Delta of Venus Cafe
Root, Karin
  • PhD Candidate
keroot@ucdavis.edu
256 SS&H
N/A
Rossi, Michelle
  • Graduate Student
micro@ucdavis.edu
SSH 284
Tues 10:00 - 11:00am Thurs 8:00 - 9:00am
Rullo, Joanna
  • Graduate Student
jmrullo@ucdavis.edu
280 SS&H
Tuesday and Thursday 4-5pm
Ryan, Krysti
  • Graduate Student
knhilton@ucdavis.edu
278 SS&H
by apt.
Sataloff, Erin
  • Graduate Student
eksataloff@ucdavis.edu
Saucke, Megan
  • Graduate Student
msaucke@ucdavis.edu
278 SS&H
Wednesdays 2-4pm
Savinar, Robin
  • Graduate Student
rlsavinar@ucdavis.edu
252 SS&H
Tuesday 8:00am-10:00am
Smith, Julianne
  • Graduate Student
jusmith@ucdavis.edu
290 SS&H
Monday & Wednesday 10:30-11:30AM
Thompson, Matthew
  • Graduate Student
mthomp@ucdavis.edu
SS&H 292
SOC 106 Wednesday 11:00am-Noon Thursday 1pm-2pm & by appointment
Tyree-Hageman, Jennifer
  • Graduate Student
jthageman@ucdavis.edu
280 SS&H
W 9:00-11:00A
Veazey, Brian
  • Graduate Student
bdveazey@ucdavis.edu
250 SS&H
N/A until September 2013
Wood, Lana
  • Graduate Student
lmwood@ucdavis.edu
252 SS&H
Friday 11am - 1pm
Wright, Duane dewright@ucdavis.edu
294 SS&H
SOC 11: Labor - M 3:30-4:30, T 3-4
Yi, Chang
  • Graduate Student
csyi@ucdavis.edu
290 SS&H
Wednesdays 1-3pm
Zhang, Jing
  • Graduate Student
soczhang@ucdavis.edu
286 SS&H
Tuesday 8:50am-9:50am Friday 1:00pm-2:00pm by appointment
Zhu, Shaopeng
  • Graduate Student
spzhu@ucdavis.edu
288 Social Science
Office Hours To Be Decided.
Emeriti
Cohen, Larry
  • Professor Emeritus
lecohen@ucdavis.edu
2240 SS&H
MWF 10-11am, or by appt
Cramer, Jim
  • Professor Emeritus
jcramer@ucdavis.edu
1282 SS&H
N/A
Jackman, Mary
  • Professor Emeritus
mrjackman@ucdavis.edu
2245 SS&H
Winter 2013: T 3:00-5:00
Joffe, Carole
  • Professor Emeritus
cejoffe@ucdavis.edu
1282 SS&H
N/A
Jorgensen, Carl
  • Professor Emeritus
ccjorgensen@ucdavis.edu
1292 SS&H
Please email for appointment
Lofland, Lyn
  • Professor Emeritus
lhlofland@ucdavis.edu
N/A
Postdoctorates
Sweet, Elizabeth
  • Postdoctoral Scholar
  • Lecturer
evsweet@ucdavis.edu
2249 SS&H
By appointment
Associated Faculty
Biggart, Nicole
  • Director & Professor - Energy Efficiency Center
  • Professor of Management - Graduate School of Management
  • Chevron Chair in Energy Efficiency
nwbiggart@ucdavis.edu
Craig, Maxine
  • Associate Professor, Women and Gender Studies Program
mbcraig@ucdavis.edu
3127 Hart Hall
Guarnizo, Luis
  • Professor, Human and Community Development
leguarnizo@ucdavis.edu
Kaiser, Susan
  • Professor and Director, Women and Gender Studies
  • Professor, Textiles and Clothing
sbkaiser@ucdavis.edu
Lacy, William
  • Vice Provost and Professor, Human and Community Development
wblacy@ucdavis.edu
Rodriguez, Robyn
  • Associate Professor, Asian American Studies
rrodriguez@ucdavis.edu
Research Professors
Block, Fred
  • Research Professor
flblock@ucdavis.edu
2266 SS&H
Wednesday 2:00-4:00 when I am not traveling.
Lofland, John
  • Professor
jflofland@ucdavis.edu
1292 SS&H
N/A
Walton, John
  • Research Professor
jtwalton@ucdavis.edu
N/A
On The Job Market
Augusto, Sarah
  • Lecturer
slaugusto@ucdavis.edu
278 SS&H
R 1:00-3:00P
Becker, Jaime
  • Lecturer
jsbecker@ucdavis.edu
256 SS&H
Tuesdays 2:30-4:30pm or by appt
Chaudhary, Ali
  • 2014-15 U.C. Dissertation-Year Fellow
  • Ph.D. Candidate
alichaudhary@ucdavis.edu
Cell: (707) 599-0561
258 Social Sciences & Humanities Building
By Appointment (email me)
Gutierrez, Timothy
  • Lecturer
tsgutierrez@ucdavis.edu
248 SS&H
Monday & Wednesday 11-12 and by appointment
Hernandez, Jesus
  • Lecturer
jchernandez@ucdavis.edu
252 SS&H
by appointment
Orzechowicz, David
  • Lecturer
djorzechowicz@ucdavis.edu
SSH 2249
Mondays 3-5pm, in 2249 SSH
Ruiz, Miguel maruiz@ucdavis.edu
254 SS&H
N/A
Setele, Julie
  • Lecturer
jasetele@ucdavis.edu
2273 SS&H
TR 10-11:30 am, or by appointment
Sweet, Elizabeth
  • Postdoctoral Scholar
  • Lecturer
evsweet@ucdavis.edu
2249 SS&H
By appointment
Sociology

1283 Social Sciences & 
Humanities 
University of California, 
Davis 
One Shields Avenue 
Davis, CA 95616

(530) 752-0782 phone
(530) 752-0783 fax

Map and Additional Contact Information

Upcoming Events
Faculty Retreat Sep 26, 2014 08:30 AM - 04:00 PM — International House
"Sociology welcome back coffee klatch" for faculty, staff, and students. Oct 02, 2014 09:00 AM - 12:00 PM — Boardroom
Sociology Fall Welcome Oct 09, 2014 04:30 PM - 07:00 PM — Putah Creek Lodge
Faculty Meeting Oct 10, 2014 01:10 PM - 03:00 PM — Boardroom
Faculty Meeting Oct 10, 2014 01:10 PM - 03:00 PM — Boardroom
Upcoming events…
Make a Gift

Giving matters at UC Davis. For more than a century, donors have been helping the university address the issues that matter most to California, the nation and the world.  The Department of Sociology is dedicated to achieving excellence. Your gift can help.

Make a gift