You are here: Home / People

People

  1. Faculty
  2. Chief Administrative Officer
  3. Staff
  4. Lecturers
  5. Graduate Students
  6. Emeriti
  7. Postdoctorates
  8. Associated Faculty
  9. Research Professors
  10. On The Job Market
Faculty
Beamish, Thomas
  • Associate Professor
tdbeamish@ucdavis.edu
2271 SS&H
M 2:00-4:00 PM
Carroll, Patrick
  • Associate Professor
pcarroll@ucdavis.edu
2272 SS&H
On sabbatical.
Faris, Robert
  • Associate Professor
rwfaris@ucdavis.edu
2247 SS&H
Tues & Thurs 8:30-9:30
Finnigan, Ryan rfinnigan@ucdavis.edu
Grattet, Ryken
  • Professor
rtgrattet@ucdavis.edu
2268 SS&H
On Leave 2012-13
Grindstaff, Laura
  • Professor
lagrindstaff@ucdavis.edu
2263 SSH and 153 Kerr
Mondays 3:00-4:30, 153 Kerr
Halfmann, Drew
  • Associate Professor
dhalfmann@ucdavis.edu
2270 SS&H
On sabbatical until Fall 2014
Hall, John
  • Distinguished Professor
jrhall@ucdavis.edu
2246 SS&H
On sabbatical.
Hamilton, Erin
  • Assistant Professor
erhamilton@ucdavis.edu
2244 SS&H
Wednesdays 12-2
Haynes, Bruce
  • Associate Professor
bdhaynes@ucdavis.edu
2251 SS&H
Tues 3-4:30 PM please make an appointment
Hibel, Jacob
  • Assistant Professor
jhibel@ucdavis.edu
2240 SS&H
Wed. 10:00-12:00 or by appointment
Jackman, Mary
  • Professor
mrjackman@ucdavis.edu
2245 SS&H
Winter 2013: T 3:00-5:00
Kyle, David
  • Associate Professor
djkyle@ucdavis.edu
2265 SS&H
Thursday 1:00-3:00
Lo, Ming-Cheng
  • Professor
mmlo@ucdavis.edu
2269 SS&H
T TH 3:10-4pm
McCarthy, Bill
  • Professor, Department Chair
bdmccarthy@ucdavis.edu
Sociology Chair's office
Thursday 3:10-4:10, Friday 12:30-1:30, or by appointment
McCourt, David dmmccourt@ucdavis.edu
Mudge, Stephanie
  • Assistant Professor &
  • SPERI Research Fellow
mudge@ucdavis.edu
2257 SS&H
Available by appointment (Skype)
Okamoto, Dina
  • Associate Professor
dgokamoto@ucdavis.edu
2264 SS&H
none; currently on leave
Shauman, Kimberlee
  • Professor
kashauman@ucdavis.edu
2243 SS&H
Tuesdays 9-11am and by appointment
Shu, Xiaoling
  • Professor, 教授
xshu@ucdavis.edu
530-554-1806
2274 SS&H
On sabbatical leave in Spring 2014.
Smith, Vicki
  • Professor
vasmith@ucdavis.edu
2261 SS & H
Wednesdays 3:00-5:00 p.m. & by appointment
U, Eddy
  • Associate Professor, Director of Graduate Studies, and Vice Chair
eu@ucdavis.edu
2248 SS&H
MW 9-10 am
Wolf, Diane
  • Professor
  • Director, Jewish Studies Program
dlwolf@ucdavis.edu
2267 SS&H
R, 1:30-3:30 and by appt.
Workflow, Test dsstest@ucdavis.edu
Chief Administrative Officer
Syed, Erum
  • Chief Administrative Officer, Green Cluster
  • Department of Sociology
  • Department of Anthropology
  • Program in Middle East/South Asian Studies
esyed@ucdavis.edu
(530) 752-9036
328 Young Hall & 1284 SS&H Building
7:30am - 4:30pm (Monday-Friday)
Staff
Besser, Denise
  • Graduate Program Coordinator
dmbesser@ucdavis.edu
752-4147
327 Young Hall
Young Hall Monday 7:00A-5:30P, Tuesday 7:00A-12:30P, Wednesday 1:00P-5:30P, Thursday 7:00A-5:30P and in 1284 SS&H Tuesday 1:00P-5:30P and Wednesday 7:00A-12:30P Off Every Friday
Calvert, Sheline
  • Account Manager, Departments of Anthropology & Sociology
scalvert@ucdavis.edu
530-752-3576
1287 SS&H
M-F 8:00-4:30
Cordova, Priscilla
  • Program Assistant
pacordova@ucdavis.edu
530-752-0745
328 Young Hall
M-F 8:30-5:00
de Guzman, Grace
  • Academic Personnel (Vacant)

530-754-4936
328B Young Hall
Monday - Friday: 8:00-12:00 and 1:00-5:00
Kisting, Pamela
  • Undergraduate Program Coordinator and Advisor
pkisting@ucdavis.edu
530.752.2873
1282 SS&H
M-F: 8-12 & 1-5
Kutsche, Melissa
  • Undergraduate Program Coordinator
mjkutsche@ucdavis.edu
530.752.4564
1282 SS&H
M-F 8:00-4:30
Leaver, Jacqueline
  • Program Assistant
jjleaver@ucdavis.edu
530.752.0782
1283 SS&H
M-F 8:00-5:00
Miller, MaryJane
  • Chief Financial Officer
  • Departments of Anthropology & Sociology
mjmiller@ucdavis.edu
530-752-8291
1285 Soc Sci & Humn Bldg
M-F 8-12 & 1-5
Ramirez, Michelle
  • Student Assistant
mlramire@ucdavis.edu
main office
Lecturers
Augusto, Sarah
  • Lecturer
slaugusto@ucdavis.edu
278 SS&H
R 1:00-3:00P
Becker, Jaime
  • Lecturer
jsbecker@ucdavis.edu
256 SS&H
Tuesdays 2:30-4:30pm or by appt
Gutierrez, Timothy
  • Lecturer
tsgutierrez@ucdavis.edu
248 SS&H
Monday & Wednesday 2-3pm and by appointment
Herda, Daniel
  • Lecturer
deherda@ucdavis.edu
292 SS&H
By Appointment
Hernandez, Jesus
  • Lecturer
jchernandez@ucdavis.edu
252 SS&H
by appointment
Kiburi, Lalia
  • Lecturer, Continuing Appointment
lhkiburi@ucdavis.edu
2262 SS&H Building
Monday: 2:30-4:30pm Or by Appointment. Please email.
Niyogi, Sanghamitra
  • Lecturer
sniyogi@ucdavis.edu
252 SS&H
Tuesday 12.30-1.30 Thursday 12.30-1.30
Orzechowicz, David
  • Lecturer
djorzechowicz@ucdavis.edu
SSH 2259
Thursdays 9-11am, in 2259 SSH Fridays 1-3pm, Location TBD
Paterniti, Debora
  • Adjunct Professor, Departments of Internal Medicine & Sociology
dapaterniti@ucdavis.edu
2262 SS&H
By appointment. dapaterniti@ucdavis.edu
Robert, Ellen
  • Lecturer
errobert@ucdavis.edu
2262 SS&H
Monday 2:30 to 4:00 and by appointment
Setele, Julie
  • Lecturer
jasetele@ucdavis.edu
2273 SS&H
TR 10-11:30 am, or by appointment
Skaife, Jane
  • Lecturer
jale@ucdavis.edu
SS&H 2259
Tuesday 1:45pm-2:45pm at 3rd and U Cafe Thursday 1:45pm-2:45pm at 3rd and U Cafe
Graduate Students
Arseo, Sean
  • Graduate Student
searseo@ucdavis.edu
SS&H 290
W: 12:10-2:10
Bahar, Roxana
  • Graduate Student
robahar@ucdavis.edu
280 SS&H
N/A
Baker, Zeke
  • Graduate Student
ejbaker@ucdavis.edu
292 SS&H
12:00-2:00 Monday, SS/H 292
Baxi, Parul
  • Graduate Student
pbaxi@ucdavis.edu
282 SS&H
N/A
Boylan, Elizabeth
  • Graduate Student
eaboylan@ucdavis.edu
N/A
N/A
Breuninger, Emily
  • Graduate Student/ TA
ebreuninger@ucdavis.edu
SS&H 284
MW 10am-12pm, or by appointment
Buchanan, Brandon
  • Graduate Student
bkbuchanan@ucdavis.edu
250 SS&H
Mon. 12-1pm, Weds. 12-1pm.
Caldeira, Chris
  • Graduate Student
ccaldeira@ucdavis.edu
250 SS&H
N/A
Carter, Angela
  • Graduate Student
ancarter@ucdavis.edu
278 SS&H
Tuesdays 12-1 pm Thursdays 12:30-1:30 pm
Caviness, Courtney
  • Graduate Student
ccaviness@ucdavis.edu
288 SS&H
W 10:00 AM - 12:00 PM
Chaudhary, Ali
  • PhD Candidate
  • Graduate Student Researcher -IFHA Temporary Migration Cluster
alichaudhary@ucdavis.edu
NA
258 Social Sciences & Humanities Building
By Appointment (email me)
Chen, Jingjing
  • Graduate Student
ajjchen@ucdavis.edu
286 SS&H
Tuesday 2:00-4:00 p.m.
Chiaraluce, Cara
  • Ph.D. Candidate
cchiaraluce@ucdavis.edu
294 SS&H
by appointment. Please e-mail to set-up an appointment.
Clark, Bridget
  • Graduate Student
baclar@ucdavis.edu
290 SS&H
Tuesdays 10:00-12:00, or by appointment
Corwin, Krista
  • Graduate Student
kmcorwin@ucdavis.edu
SS&H 288
Thursday 12:30-2:30
Evans, Ethan
  • Graduate Student
ejevans@ucdavis.edu
254 SS&H
Tuesday 10 a.m. - 12 p.m. and by appt. TA: Soc 180A - Young Hall 194, MWF 9:00-9:50.
Feldman, Valerie
  • PhD Candidate
vafeldman@ucdavis.edu
254 SS&H
By appointment only
Florence, Chelsi
  • Graduate Student
ccflorence@ucdavis.edu
SS&H 294
SOC 025 T/R 10:30-11:30am & by appointment
Fortes, Carmen
  • Ph.D. Student
cefortes@ucdavis.edu
286 SS&H
MW 9:00-10:00 AM & by Appointment
Freiburger, Nathaniel
  • Graduate Student
nmfreiburger@ucdavis.edu
258 SS&H
N/A
Geer, Shaun
  • Graduate Student
sgeer@ucdavis.edu
294 SS&H
257 SS&H
Grossman, Chloe
  • Graduate Student
cgrossman@ucdavis.edu
Delta of Venus
Thursday 1-3 Delta of Venus on B St.
Hale, jo
  • PhD Student
Johale@ucdavis.edu
290 SS&H
Graduate Research Assistant in Public Health Dept. OH by appt.
Halpin, Brian
  • Graduate Student
bwhalpin@ucdavis.edu
280 SS&H
M/W 3-4 or by appointment
Haraway, Sam
  • Graduate Student
  • Associate Instructor, Sociology 100: Sociological Theory
sqharaway@ucdavis.edu
258 SS&H
Tues 11-12, Wed 11:30-12:30, and by appt.
Hart, Beth
  • Graduate Student
eahart@ucdavis.edu
286 SS&H
N/A
Hartzog, Cassie
  • Graduate Student
chartzog@ucdavis.edu
250 SS&H
T 9:30-11:30am
Hayes, Joshua
  • Graduate Student
hayes@ucdavis.edu
252 SS&H
Tuesday 3:00PM - 5:00 PM, and by appointment.
Haylett, Jennifer
  • Graduate Student
jlhaylett@ucdavis.edu
282 SSH
N/A
Huang, Po-Chun
  • Graduate Student
stvhuang@ucdavis.edu
288 SS&H
Wednesday 10:00am - 12:00pm
Jaeger, Ashlyn
  • Graduate Student
amjaeger@ucdavis.edu
294 SS&H
M/W 12:30-1:30PM
Jeffrey, Phyllis
  • Graduate Student
phjeffrey@ucdavis.edu
254 SS&H
Thursdays, 2:30 to 4:30pm
Kincaid, John
  • Graduate Student
jdkincaid@ucdavis.edu
280 SS&H
On Fellowship 2013/14 - By Appointment Only
Kutzleb, Jennifer
  • PhD Candidate
jjkutzleb@ucdavis.edu
282 SS&H
by appointment
Lauteria, Evan
  • Graduate Student
ewlauteria@ucdavis.edu
250 SS&H
Tuesday, 2:00pm-4:00pm (or by appointment; please email)
Logan, Shane
  • Graduate Student
splogan@ucdavis.edu
292 SSH
TR 3:30-4:30
McCoy, Jabou
  • Graduate Student
jtmccoy@ucdavis.edu
282 SS&H
Tuesday 4:00pm-6:00pm
Meagher, Kelsey
  • Graduate Student
kdmeagher@ucdavis.edu
SS&H 258
Monday 11-12pm Wednesday 11-12pm
Menard, Nathen ndmenard@ucdavis.edu
250 SS&H
M-W 10-11AM
Miller, Amara
  • Graduate Student
marmiller@ucdavis.edu
288 SS&H
Mondays 2:00 - 3:00 pm Tuesdays 3:00 - 4:00 pm
Mollenhauer, Whitney
  • Graduate Student
wftaylor@ucdavis.edu
282 SS&H
Thurs 11am-12pm
Nguyen, Emerald
  • PhD Candidate
etnguyen@ucdavis.edu
2300 SCC and 282 SS&H
Mon from 12-5; Wed from 9-2 at the URC in 2300 SCC
Nickens, Rachel
  • Graduate Student
renickens@ucdavis.edu
SS&H 284
Thursday 2:00-3:00 pm Friday 12:00-1:00 pm
Phan, Le
  • Graduate Student
lephan@ucdavis.edu
292 SS&H
By appointment
Psick, Zachary
  • Graduate Student
zepsick@ucdavis.edu
Soc 292
N/A
Qin, Yi (Sophie)
  • Graduate Student
yqin@ucdavis.edu
292 SS&H
Mon 3:10-4:10 pm, Tue 9:10-10:10 am, and by appointment
Reosti, Elizabeth
  • Graduate Student
ecreosti@ucdavis.edu
284 SS&H
W 2-4 or by appointment
Richardson, Susan
  • Graduate Student
sdrichardson@ucdavis.edu
284 SS&H
T 1:30-3:30 Delta of Venus Cafe
Romero, Mindy
  • Graduate Student
msromero@ucdavis.edu
278 SS&H
N/A
Root, Karin
  • PhD Candidate
keroot@ucdavis.edu
252 SS&H
N/A
Rossi, Michelle
  • Graduate Student
micro@ucdavis.edu
SSH 284
Tues 10:00 - 11:00am Thurs 8:00 - 9:00am
Ruiz, Miguel
  • Graduate Student
maruiz@ucdavis.edu
254 SS&H
N/A
Rullo, Joanna
  • Graduate Student
jmrullo@ucdavis.edu
280 SS&H
Tuesday and Thursday 4-5pm
Ryan, Krysti
  • Graduate Student
knhilton@ucdavis.edu
278 SS&H
by apt.
Saucke, Megan
  • Graduate Student
msaucke@ucdavis.edu
278 SS&H
Wednesdays 2-4pm
Savinar, Robin
  • Graduate Student
rlsavinar@ucdavis.edu
284 SS&H
No office hours 2013-2014 academic year
Smith, Julianne
  • Graduate Student
jusmith@ucdavis.edu
290 SS&H
Tuesday 12-1pm & Wednesday 12:30-1:30pm
Thai, Mai
  • Graduate Student
mnthai@ucdavis.edu
286 SS&H
By appointment
Thompson, Matthew
  • Graduate Student
mthomp@ucdavis.edu
SS&H 292
SOC 106 M, W 11:00am-Noon & by appointment
Tyree-Hageman, Jennifer
  • Graduate Student
jthageman@ucdavis.edu
280 SS&H
W 9:00-11:00A
Veazey, Brian
  • Graduate Student
bdveazey@ucdavis.edu
250 SS&H
N/A until September 2013
Wood, Lana
  • Graduate Student
lmwood@ucdavis.edu
284 SS&H
Monday 10:00 am - 12:00 pm
Wright, Duane dewright@ucdavis.edu
294 SS&H
SOC 11: Labor - M 3:30-4:30, T 3-4
Yi, Chang
  • Graduate Student
csyi@ucdavis.edu
290 SS&H
Wednesdays 1-3pm
Zhu, Yifei
  • Graduate Student
yfzhu@ucdavis.edu
290 SS&H
N/A
Emeriti
Cohen, Larry
  • Professor
lecohen@ucdavis.edu
2240 SS&H
MWF 10-11am, or by appt
Cramer, Jim
  • Professor Emeritus
jcramer@ucdavis.edu
1282 SS&H
N/A
Joffe, Carole
  • Professor Emeritus
cejoffe@ucdavis.edu
1282 SS&H
N/A
Jorgensen, Carl
  • Professor Emeritus
ccjorgensen@ucdavis.edu
1292 SS&H
Please email for appointment
Lofland, John
  • Professor Emeritus
jflofland@ucdavis.edu
1292 SS&H
N/A
Postdoctorates
Herda, Daniel
  • Lecturer
deherda@ucdavis.edu
292 SS&H
By Appointment
Sweet, Elizabeth
  • Postdoctoral Scholar
evsweet@ucdavis.edu
278 SS&H
By appointment
Associated Faculty
Biggart, Nicole
  • Director & Professor - Energy Efficiency Center
  • Professor of Management - Graduate School of Management
  • Chevron Chair in Energy Efficiency
nwbiggart@ucdavis.edu
Craig, Maxine
  • Associate Professor, Women and Gender Studies Program
mbcraig@ucdavis.edu
3127 Hart Hall
Guarnizo, Luis
  • Professor, Human and Community Development
leguarnizo@ucdavis.edu
Kaiser, Susan
  • Professor and Director, Women and Gender Studies
  • Professor, Textiles and Clothing
sbkaiser@ucdavis.edu
Lacy, William
  • Vice Provost and Professor, Human and Community Development
wblacy@ucdavis.edu
Rodriguez, Robyn
  • Associate Professor, Asian American Studies
rrodriguez@ucdavis.edu
Research Professors
Block, Fred
  • Research Professor
flblock@ucdavis.edu
2266 SS&H
Wednesday 11:15-12:15 Wednesday 4:00-5:00
Lofland, Lyn
  • Research Professor
lhlofland@ucdavis.edu
N/A
Walton, John
  • Research Professor
jtwalton@ucdavis.edu
N/A
On The Job Market
Augusto, Sarah
  • Lecturer
slaugusto@ucdavis.edu
278 SS&H
R 1:00-3:00P
Bahar, Roxana
  • Graduate Student
robahar@ucdavis.edu
280 SS&H
N/A
Becker, Jaime
  • Lecturer
jsbecker@ucdavis.edu
256 SS&H
Tuesdays 2:30-4:30pm or by appt
Gutierrez, Timothy
  • Lecturer
tsgutierrez@ucdavis.edu
248 SS&H
Monday & Wednesday 2-3pm and by appointment
Herda, Daniel
  • Lecturer
deherda@ucdavis.edu
292 SS&H
By Appointment
Hernandez, Jesus
  • Lecturer
jchernandez@ucdavis.edu
252 SS&H
by appointment
Niyogi, Sanghamitra
  • Lecturer
sniyogi@ucdavis.edu
252 SS&H
Tuesday 12.30-1.30 Thursday 12.30-1.30
Orzechowicz, David
  • Lecturer
djorzechowicz@ucdavis.edu
SSH 2259
Thursdays 9-11am, in 2259 SSH Fridays 1-3pm, Location TBD
Setele, Julie
  • Lecturer
jasetele@ucdavis.edu
2273 SS&H
TR 10-11:30 am, or by appointment
Skaife, Jane
  • Lecturer
jale@ucdavis.edu
SS&H 2259
Tuesday 1:45pm-2:45pm at 3rd and U Cafe Thursday 1:45pm-2:45pm at 3rd and U Cafe
Sweet, Elizabeth
  • Postdoctoral Scholar
evsweet@ucdavis.edu
278 SS&H
By appointment
Sociology

1283 Social Sciences & 
Humanities 
University of California, 
Davis 
One Shields Avenue 
Davis, CA 95616

(530) 752-0782 phone
(530) 752-0783 fax

Map and Additional Contact Information

Make a Gift

Giving matters at UC Davis. For more than a century, donors have been helping the university address the issues that matter most to California, the nation and the world.  The Department of Sociology is dedicated to achieving excellence. Your gift can help.

Make a gift

Upcoming Events
Colloquium: David Harding - Effects of Incarceration on Employment and Recidivism: Evidence from a Natural Experiment Apr 25, 2014 11:00 AM - 12:30 PM — Andrews Conference Room
PI Workshop - Tim Gutierrez Apr 25, 2014 02:00 PM - 03:30 PM — Boardroom
Chancellor, Provost and Dean Visit May 09, 2014 11:00 AM - 01:00 PM — Boardroom
Upcoming events…