You are here: Home / People

People

  1. Faculty
  2. Chief Administrative Officer
  3. Staff
  4. Lecturers
  5. Graduate Students
  6. Emeriti
  7. Postdoctorates
  8. Associated Faculty
  9. Research Professors
  10. On The Job Market
Faculty
Beamish, Thomas
  • Professor
tdbeamish@ucdavis.edu
530 297 8089
2271 SS&H
M 2:00-4:00 PM
Carroll, Patrick
  • Associate Professor
pcarroll@ucdavis.edu
916-420-2756
2272 SS&H
T-R 1:00-2:00pm or by appointment.
Faris, Robert
  • Associate Professor
rwfaris@ucdavis.edu
2247 SS&H
Tuesday 8-10
Finnigan, Ryan
  • Assistant Professor
rfinnigan@ucdavis.edu
2259 SS&H
Thursday 11:00am - 1:00pm, and by appointment
Grattet, Ryken
  • Professor
rtgrattet@ucdavis.edu
2268 SS&H
Wednesday 1:30-2:30 and by appointment
Grindstaff, Laura
  • Professor
lagrindstaff@ucdavis.edu
2263 SSH
Tuesdays 12-2pm and by appt.
Halfmann, Drew
  • Associate Professor
dhalfmann@ucdavis.edu
2270 SS&H
Friday 3:00-4:00 and by appointment
Hamilton, Erin
  • Assistant Professor
erhamilton@ucdavis.edu
2244 SS&H
Please email for appointment
Haynes, Bruce
  • Associate Professor
bdhaynes@ucdavis.edu
2251 SS&H
Friday 3-4:30PM and by appointment
Hibel, Jacob
  • Assistant Professor
jhibel@ucdavis.edu
2240 SS&H
Mon. 1:00-3:00 or by appointment
Kyle, David djkyle@ucdavis.edu
2265 SS&H
On sabbatical during Fall 2015.
Lo, Ming-Cheng
  • Professor
mmlo@ucdavis.edu
2269 SS&H
MW 2:10-3 pm
McCarthy, Bill
  • Professor
bdmccarthy@ucdavis.edu
2238 SS&H
Friday 11:00-12:00 or by appointment
McCourt, David
  • Assistant Professor
dmmccourt@ucdavis.edu
2264 SS&H
M-W 12pm-1pm
Mudge, Stephanie
  • Assistant Professor
mudge@ucdavis.edu
2257 SS&H (Entrance off of A St., 2nd floor)
Tuesdays 12:00-1:00pm, Thurs 11:00-12:00pm, or by appointment (please email me).
Shauman, Kimberlee
  • Professor
kashauman@ucdavis.edu
2243 SS&H
Thursdays 12:00-2:00pm and by appointment
Shu, Xiaoling
  • Professor
  • Graduate Director
  • Vice Chair
  • 教授,副系主任,研究生主任
xshu@ucdavis.edu
530-554-1806
2274 SS&H
Mon 11:30-1:30pm; Th 11-12pm grad students
Smith, Chris
  • Assistant Professor
chmsmith@ucdavis.edu
2245 SS&H
Smith, Vicki
  • Department Chair
vasmith@ucdavis.edu
(530) 752-7746
2261 SS & H
Tuesdays, 10-12 Fridays, 9-11 By appointment
U, Eddy
  • Associate Professor
eu@ucdavis.edu
2248 SS&H
Tue 9-10 am
Wolf, Diane
  • Professor
  • Director, Jewish Studies Program
dlwolf@ucdavis.edu
2267 SS&H
R, 1:30-3:30 and by appt.
Chief Administrative Officer
Syed, Erum
  • Chief Administrative Officer, Green Cluster
  • Department of Sociology
  • Department of Anthropology
  • Program in Middle East/South Asian Studies
esyed@ucdavis.edu
(530) 752-9036
326 Young Hall
M-F 9:00-5:30
Staff
Besser, Denise
  • Graduate Program Coordinator
dmbesser@ucdavis.edu
(530) 752-4147
327 Young Hall
Summer Hours Monday to Thursday 7:00A-5:30P Off Every Friday Vacation July 31 to August 7
Calvert, Sheline
  • Account Manager, Departments of Anthropology & Sociology
scalvert@ucdavis.edu
530-752-3576
1287 SS&H
M-F 8:00-4:30
Cordova, Priscilla
  • Program Coordinator
  • Department of Anthropology
pacordova@ucdavis.edu
530-752-0745
328 Young Hall
M-F 9:00-5:30
Hernandez, Christine
  • Financial Assistant
cishernandez@ucdavis.edu
(530) 752-8711
1290 SS&H
M-F 8:00-5:00
Kisting, Pamela
  • Student Affairs Officer, Department of Sociology
  • Undergraduate Advisor, Departments of Sociology and Anthropology
pkisting@ucdavis.edu
530.752.2873
1284 SS&H
M-F 8:00-4:30
Leaver, Jacqueline
  • Program Coordinator
  • Department of Sociology
jjleaver@ucdavis.edu
530.752.0782
1286 SS&H
M-F 8:00-5:00
Miller, MaryJane
  • Financial Analyst
  • Departments of Anthropology & Sociology
mjmiller@ucdavis.edu
530-752-8291
1288 Soc Sci & Humn Bldg
M-F 8-12 & 1-5
Sholer, Kelli
  • Undergraduate Advisor, Student Affairs Officer
  • Department of Anthropology
kmsholer@ucdavis.edu
530.752.4564
1285 SS&H
M-F 9:00-5:30 (9-12/1-4 Advising Hours)
Taniguchi, Staci
  • Student Assistant
dss-stacitan@ad3.ucdavis.edu
1282 SSH
M-TH 8:00-12:00 pm
Taylor, RJ
  • Academic Personnel Specialist
arjtaylor@ucdavis.edu
(530) 752-3891
1290 SS&H
M-F 8:00-5:00
Willard, Jennifer
  • Academic Personnel Specialist
jnwillard@ucdavis.edu
(530) 754-4936
328 B Young Hall
ON MATERNITY LEAVE Returning January 4, 2016 In the meantime please contact RJ Taylor, arjtaylor@ucdavis.edu,(530)752-3891
Lecturers
Becker, Jaime
  • Lecturer
jsbecker@ucdavis.edu
256 SS&H
Tuesdays 3-5pm or by appt
Gutierrez, Timothy
  • Lecturer
tsgutierrez@ucdavis.edu
2249 SS&H
Friday from 9-11am and by appointment
Hernandez, Jesus
  • Lecturer
jchernandez@ucdavis.edu
252 SS&H
Monday, Wednesday 2:00pm - 4:00pm or by appt.
Kiburi, Lalia
  • Lecturer, Continuing Appointment
lhkiburi@ucdavis.edu
Please email
2262 SS&H Building
Tuesday: 11-12pm & 1-2pm - Or by Appointment.
McCoy, Jabou
  • Lecturer
jtmccoy@ucdavis.edu
2273 SS&H
Tuesdays 11-1pm or by appointment
Orzechowicz, David
  • Lecturer
djorzechowicz@ucdavis.edu
SSH 2249
Wednesdays 3-5pm, in 2249 SSH
Robert, Ellen
  • Lecturer
errobert@ucdavis.edu
2262 SS&H
Monday 2:30 to 4:00 and by appointment
Ruiz, Miguel maruiz@ucdavis.edu
254 SS&H
By appointment
Graduate Students
Acosta, Lauren
  • Graduate Student
lmacosta@ucdavis.edu
Alston-Stepnitz, Eli
  • Graduate Student
ecalstonstepnitz@ucdavis.edu
Arseo, Sean
  • Graduate Student
searseo@ucdavis.edu
SS&H 290
T: 12:00PM-1:00PM; F: 11:00AM-12:00PM SS&H 290* *time and location subject to change
Baker, Zeke
  • Graduate Student
ejbaker@ucdavis.edu
292 SS&H
4-5pm Mondays and Wednesdays, SS/H 292 or by appointment
Baxi, Parul
  • PhD Candidate
pbaxi@ucdavis.edu
282 SS&H
Fridays 11:00-1:00. SS&H 282.
Boylan, Elizabeth
  • Graduate Student
  • GSR LGBTQIA Resource Center
eaboylan@ucdavis.edu
LGBTQIARC & 258 SS&H
LGBTQIARC Wed 12pm-2pm
Breuninger, Emily
  • Graduate Student/ TA
ebreuninger@ucdavis.edu
SS&H 284
Wednesday 2-4pm, or by appointment
Buchanan, Brandon
  • Graduate Student
bkbuchanan@ucdavis.edu
250 SS&H
Tuesday. 11:00am-12:00pm, Thurs. 11:00am-12:00pm.
Caldeira, Chris
  • Graduate Student
ccaldeira@ucdavis.edu
250 SS&H
N/A
Carter, Angela
  • Graduate Student
ancarter@ucdavis.edu
278 SS&H
by appointment only
Caviness, Courtney
  • Graduate Student
ccaviness@ucdavis.edu
280 SS&H
Mondays 3:00 - 4:00 Tuesdays 12:00 - 1:00
Chaudhary, Ali
  • Postdoctoral Fellow, University of Oxford
alichaudhary@ucdavis.edu
UK Contact: +44 07956 357203
By Email
Chen , Jingjing 陈晶晶
  • Graduate Student
ajjchen@ucdavis.edu
102 SS&H
Monday 3:30-5:30pm
Clark, Bridget
  • Graduate Student
baclar@ucdavis.edu
258 SS&H
Wednesday 9:00-11:00 am, or by appointment
Doan, Connelly
  • Graduate Student
cmdoan@ucdavis.edu
SS&H 288
Evans, Ethan
  • PhD Candidate
ejevans@ucdavis.edu
254 SS&H
Mondays 1:30-3:30 p.m. T.A. Soc 46B: Tues & Thurs 12:10-2:00; Lab Sections: Friday 11-11:50 & 12:10-1:00.
Feldman, Valerie
  • PhD Candidate
vafeldman@ucdavis.edu
254 SS&H
By appointment only
Felice, Samantha
  • Graduate Student
slfelice@ucdavis.edu
290 SS&H, by appointment
Fields, Christine
  • Graduate Student
cvfields@ucdavis.edu
SS&H 286 Tuesday/Thursday 1:30PM-2:30PM
Florence, Chelsi
  • Graduate Student
ccflorence@ucdavis.edu
SS&H 294
Thursdays 2:50-4:50pm (also by appointment)
Fortes, Carmen
  • PhD Candidate
cefortes@ucdavis.edu
254 SS&H
By Appointment
Geer, Shaun
  • Graduate Student
sgeer@ucdavis.edu
294 SS&H
257 SS&H
Glennie, Charlotte
  • Graduate Student
cfglennie@ucdavis.edu
Gold, Jessica
  • Graduate Student
jrgold@ucdavis.edu
Hale, jo
  • PhD Candidate
Johale@ucdavis.edu
280 SS&H
Graduate Student Researcher for the Center for Poverty Research O.H. by appt.
Halpin, Brian
  • Graduate Student
bwhalpin@ucdavis.edu
280 SS&H
by appointment
Haraway, Sam
  • PhD Candidate
sqharaway@ucdavis.edu
258 SS&H
By appointment
Hart, Beth
  • Graduate Student
eahart@ucdavis.edu
286 SS&H
By appointment.
Hayes, Joshua
  • Graduate Student, Lecturer, Teaching Assistant, Freelance Writer
hayes@ucdavis.edu
252 SS&H
Tuesdays from 2:00 - 3:00 PM, Thursdays from 4:30 - 5:30 PM, and by always appointment.
Huang, Po-Chun
  • Graduate Student
stvhuang@ucdavis.edu
288 SS&H
Thursday 10:30am - 12:30pm & by appointment
Jaeger, Ashlyn
  • Graduate Student
amjaeger@ucdavis.edu
294 SS&H
Tuesdays 12-1pm and 4-5pm in SS&H 294
Jeffrey, Phyllis
  • PhD Candidate
phjeffrey@ucdavis.edu
254 SS&H
Kolber, Jess
  • Graduate Student
jkolber@ucdavis.edu
Kutzleb, Jennifer
  • PhD Candidate
jjkutzleb@ucdavis.edu
282 SS&H
by appointment
Lauteria, Evan
  • Graduate Student
ewlauteria@ucdavis.edu
250 SS&H
Tuesday 1:30pm - 3:30pm
Lawrence, Christopher
  • Graduate Student
cjlaw@ucdavis.edu
Mabry, Dustin
  • Graduate Student, Adjunct Instructor in Sociology at Berkeley City College.
dmabry@ucdavis.edu
McCarty, Kristin
  • Graduate Student
kmccarty@ucdavis.edu
286 SS&H
Thursday: 11:15AM-1:15PM
Meagher, Kelsey
  • Ph.D. Candidate
kdmeagher@ucdavis.edu
258 SS&H
Mondays 12-1pm Wednesdays 9-10am
Menard, Nathen ndmenard@ucdavis.edu
250 SS&H
Mondays and Wednesdays 3-4PM and by appointment
Miller, Amara
  • Graduate Student
marmiller@ucdavis.edu
288 SS&H
Tuesdays 2:00 - 4:00 pm (288 SS&H)
Moise, Gillian
  • Graduate Student
grmoise@ucdavis.edu
Nguyen, Emerald
  • PhD Candidate
etnguyen@ucdavis.edu
282 SS&H
Thu 1-3
Nickens, Rachel
  • Graduate Student
renickens@ucdavis.edu
SS&H 278
Tuesday 12:00-1:00 pm Wednesday 4:00-5:00 pm Or by appointment
Panger, Kathryn
  • Graduate Student
kepanger@ucdavis.edu
Psick, Zachary
  • Graduate Student
zepsick@ucdavis.edu
Soc 292
Monday 3:00 - 4:00 Thursday 4:30 - 5:30
Reosti, Elizabeth
  • Graduate Student
ecreosti@ucdavis.edu
284 SS&H
W 2-4 or by appointment
Root, Karin
  • PhD Candidate
keroot@ucdavis.edu
256 SS&H
N/A
Rossi, Michelle
  • Graduate Student
micro@ucdavis.edu
SS&H 284
Tues 8:00am - 9:00am and Wed 8:00am - 9:00am
Rullo, Joanna
  • Graduate Student
jmrullo@ucdavis.edu
280 SS&H
Tuesday and Thursday 4-5pm
Ryan, Krysti
  • Graduate Student
knhilton@ucdavis.edu
278 SS&H
by apt.
Savinar, Robin
  • Graduate Student
rlsavinar@ucdavis.edu
252 SS&H
Tuesday 12:00-2:00p.m.
Smith, Julianne
  • Graduate Student
jusmith@ucdavis.edu
290 SS&H
Thompson, Matthew
  • Graduate Student
mthomp@ucdavis.edu
SS&H 292
SOC 106 Wednesdays and Thursdays Noon-1pm & by appointment
TyreeHageman, Jennifer
  • PhD Candidate
  • Graduate Student Researcher
  • Plug-In Hybrid & Electric Vehicle Research Center, UC Davis
jthageman@ucdavis.edu
280 SS&H
By appointment only
Wood, Lana
  • Graduate Student
lmwood@ucdavis.edu
252 SS&H
Wright, Duane dewright@ucdavis.edu
294 SS&H
None over the summer, contact via email if you wish to talk or meet up.
Zhang, Jing
  • Graduate Student
soczhang@ucdavis.edu
286 SS&H
N/A
Zhu, Shaopeng
  • Graduate Student
  • TA for SOC 150 (Spring 2015)
  • TA for SOC 4 (Fall 2015) SECTION A02(Mon 6:10-7:00P Olson 163)
  • TA for SOC 4 (Fall 2015) SECTION A03(Wed 8:00-8:50A Olson 167).
spzhu@ucdavis.edu
288 Social Science
TUE 3:30-5:00 PM/FRI 1:30-2:00 PM/by Appointment
Emeriti
Cohen, Larry
  • Professor Emeritus
lecohen@ucdavis.edu
2240 SS&H
MWF 10-11am, or by appt
Cramer, Jim
  • Professor Emeritus
jcramer@ucdavis.edu
1282 SS&H
N/A
Hall, John
  • Research Professor
jrhall@ucdavis.edu
2246 Social Science/Humanities
Tuesdays, 1.30 - 3.30pm, or by appointment.
Joffe, Carole
  • Professor Emerita
cejoffe@ucdavis.edu
1282 SS&H
N/A
Jorgensen, Carl
  • Professor Emeritus
ccjorgensen@ucdavis.edu
1292 SS&H
Please email for appointment
Lofland, John
  • Professor Emeritus
jflofland@ucdavis.edu
1292 SS&H
N/A
Lofland, Lyn
  • Professor Emerita
lhlofland@ucdavis.edu
N/A
Walton, John
  • Professor Emeritus
jtwalton@ucdavis.edu
N/A
Postdoctorates
Sweet, Elizabeth
  • Postdoctoral Scholar
  • Lecturer
evsweet@ucdavis.edu
2249 SS&H
Thursday 12:00pm-2:00pm By appointment
Associated Faculty
Biggart, Nicole
  • Director & Professor/Dean Emerita - Energy Efficiency Center
  • Professor of Management - Graduate School of Management
  • Chevron Chair in Energy Efficiency
nwbiggart@ucdavis.edu
Craig, Maxine
  • Professor, Gender, Sexuality and Women’s Studies Program
mbcraig@ucdavis.edu
3127 Hart Hall
Guarnizo, Luis
  • Professor, Human and Community Development
leguarnizo@ucdavis.edu
Kaiser, Susan
  • Professor and Director, Women and Gender Studies
  • Professor, Textiles and Clothing
sbkaiser@ucdavis.edu
Lacy, William
  • Vice Provost and Professor, Human and Community Development
wblacy@ucdavis.edu
Rodriguez, Robyn
  • Associate Professor, Asian American Studies
rrodriguez@ucdavis.edu
Research Professors
Block, Fred
  • Research Professor
flblock@ucdavis.edu
2266 SS&H
Wednesday 2:00-4:00 when I am not traveling.
Jackman, Mary
  • Research Professor
mrjackman@ucdavis.edu
2245 SS&H
Winter 2013: T 3:00-5:00
On The Job Market
Becker, Jaime
  • Lecturer
jsbecker@ucdavis.edu
256 SS&H
Tuesdays 3-5pm or by appt
Gutierrez, Timothy
  • Lecturer
tsgutierrez@ucdavis.edu
2249 SS&H
Friday from 9-11am and by appointment
Hernandez, Jesus
  • Lecturer
jchernandez@ucdavis.edu
252 SS&H
Monday, Wednesday 2:00pm - 4:00pm or by appt.
McCoy, Jabou
  • Lecturer
jtmccoy@ucdavis.edu
2273 SS&H
Tuesdays 11-1pm or by appointment
Orzechowicz, David
  • Lecturer
djorzechowicz@ucdavis.edu
SSH 2249
Wednesdays 3-5pm, in 2249 SSH
Ruiz, Miguel maruiz@ucdavis.edu
254 SS&H
By appointment
Sociology

1283 Social Sciences & 
Humanities 
University of California, 
Davis 
One Shields Avenue 
Davis, CA 95616

(530) 752-0782 phone
(530) 752-0783 fax

Map and Additional Contact Information

Make a Gift

Giving matters at UC Davis. For more than a century, donors have been helping the university address the issues that matter most to California, the nation and the world.  The Department of Sociology is dedicated to achieving excellence. Your gift can help.

Make a gift