You are here: Home / People

People

  1. Faculty
  2. Chief Administrative Officer
  3. Staff
  4. Lecturers
  5. Graduate Students
  6. Emeriti
  7. Associated Faculty
  8. Research Professors
  9. On The Job Market
Faculty
Beamish, Thomas
  • Professor
tdbeamish@ucdavis.edu
530 297 8089
2271 SS&H
M 2:00PM - 3:00PM W 2:00PM - 3:00PM
Carroll, Patrick
  • Associate Professor
pcarroll@ucdavis.edu
916-420-2756
2272 SS&H
On Sabbatical.
Faris, Robert
  • Associate Professor
  • Chancellor's Fellow
rwfaris@ucdavis.edu
2247 SS&H
Mon 4:00-5:00 Wed 4:00-5:00
Finnigan, Ryan
  • Assistant Professor
rfinnigan@ucdavis.edu
2259 SS&H
Thursday 11:00am - 1:00pm, and by appointment
Grattet, Ryken
  • Professor
rtgrattet@ucdavis.edu
2268 SS&H
Wednesday 1:30-2:30 and by appointment
Grindstaff, Laura
  • Professor
lagrindstaff@ucdavis.edu
2263 SSH
On sabbatical
Halfmann, Drew
  • Associate Professor
dhalfmann@ucdavis.edu
2270 SS&H
W 12pm-1pm, and by appointment
Hamilton, Erin
  • Assistant Professor
erhamilton@ucdavis.edu
2244 SS&H
Wednesdays 2-4
Haynes, Bruce
  • Associate Professor
bdhaynes@ucdavis.edu
2251 SS&H
Thurs 4-5:00PM and by appointment
Hibel, Jacob
  • Assistant Professor
jhibel@ucdavis.edu
2240 SS&H
Mon. 1:00-3:00 or by appointment
Kyle, David djkyle@ucdavis.edu
2265 SS&H
Thursday, 1:00-2:50
Lo, Ming-Cheng
  • Professor
mmlo@ucdavis.edu
(530) 754-0787
2269 SS&H
T TH 1:10 pm - 2:00 pm
McCarthy, Bill
  • Professor
bdmccarthy@ucdavis.edu
530-754-0774
2238 SS&H
Tuesday and Thursday 3-4, or by appointment
McCourt, David
  • Assistant Professor
dmmccourt@ucdavis.edu
2264 SS&H
TR 9.30am-10.30am
Mudge, Stephanie
  • Assistant Professor
mudge@ucdavis.edu
2257 SS&H (Entrance off of A St., 2nd floor)
Mondays 2:30-4:30pm, or by appointment.
Shauman, Kimberlee
  • Professor
kashauman@ucdavis.edu
530-754-0773
2243 SS&H
Thursdays 9:00-11:00am and by appointment
Shu, Xiaoling
  • Professor,Graduate Director and Vice Chair
  • 教授,副系主任,研究生主任
xshu@ucdavis.edu
530-754-0771
2274 Social Sciences & Humanities
Winter 2016: Not teaching. Hours: Mon 12:50-2:50pm, Tue 12-1pm
Smith, Chris
  • Assistant Professor
chmsmith@ucdavis.edu
2245 SS&H
Thursday 10:00 am - 12:00 pm By appointment
Smith, Vicki
  • Department Chair
vasmith@ucdavis.edu
(530) 752-7746
2261 SS & H
Winter 2016 Mondays 3-5 pm Thursdays 9-11 am By appointment
U, Eddy
  • Associate Professor
eu@ucdavis.edu
2248 SS&H
Tue 2-3 pm
Wolf, Diane
  • Professor
  • Director, Jewish Studies Program
dlwolf@ucdavis.edu
2267 SS&H
T/R 11am-noon and by appt
Chief Administrative Officer
Syed, Erum
  • Chief Administrative Officer, Green Cluster
  • Department of Sociology
  • Department of Anthropology
  • Program in Middle East/South Asian Studies
esyed@ucdavis.edu
(530) 752-9036
326 Young Hall
M-F 9:00-5:30
Staff
Besser, Denise
  • Graduate Program Coordinator
dmbesser@ucdavis.edu
(530) 752-4147
327 Young Hall
Monday to Thursday 7:30A-5:00P 7:30A-4:00P Every Friday Off Every Friday
Calvert, Sheline
  • Account Manager, Departments of Anthropology & Sociology
scalvert@ucdavis.edu
530-752-3576
1287 SS&H
M-F 8:00-4:30
Cordova, Priscilla
  • Program Coordinator
  • Department of Anthropology
pacordova@ucdavis.edu
530-752-0745
328 Young Hall
M-F 9:00-5:30
Herrod, Caroline
  • Undergraduate Advisor
  • Student Affairs Officer
  • Department of Sociology
caherrod@ucdavis.edu
(530) 752-2873
1284 Social Science and Humanities
M-F 9:00-5:30
Leaver, Jacqueline
  • Program Coordinator
  • Department of Sociology
jjleaver@ucdavis.edu
530.752.0782
1286 SS&H
M-F 8:00-5:00
Ludovina, Val
  • Academic Personnel Specialist
valudovina@ucdavis.edu
530-752-3891
1292 SS&H
M-F 7:30am-4:30pm
Miller, MaryJane
  • Financial Analyst
  • Departments of Anthropology & Sociology
mjmiller@ucdavis.edu
530-752-8291
1288 Soc Sci & Humn Bldg
M-F 8-12 & 1-5
Sholer, Kelli
  • Undergraduate Advisor, Student Affairs Officer
  • Department of Anthropology
kmsholer@ucdavis.edu
530.752.4564
1285 SS&H
M-F 9:00-5:30 (9-12/1-4 Advising Hours)
Taniguchi, Staci
  • Student Assistant
dss-stacitan@ad3.ucdavis.edu
1282 SSH
M-TH 8:00-12:00 pm
Willard, Jennifer
  • Academic Personnel Specialist
  • Department of Anthropology
jnwillard@ucdavis.edu
(530) 754-4936
328 B Young Hall
M-F 8:00-4:30
Lecturers
Baxi, Parul
  • Lecturer
pbaxi@ucdavis.edu
2273 SS&H
Wednesdays 3:00-5:00pm. By Appointment
Becker, Jaime
  • Lecturer
jsbecker@ucdavis.edu
2273 SS&H
Tuesdays 3-5pm or by appt
Gutierrez, Timothy
  • Lecturer
tsgutierrez@ucdavis.edu
2249 SS&H
Tuesday/Thursday from 3-4pm & by appointment
Hernandez, Jesus
  • Lecturer
jchernandez@ucdavis.edu
252 SS&H
Monday, Wednesday 2:00pm - 4:00pm or by appt.
Kiburi, Lalia
  • Lecturer, Continuing Appointment
lhkiburi@ucdavis.edu
Please email
2262 SS&H Building
Tuesday: 1:15-2:15pm & Thursday 1:15-2:15pm Location: the Silo. Or by Appointment.
McCoy, Jabou
  • Lecturer
jtmccoy@ucdavis.edu
2273 SS&H
Wednesdays 10:30-12:30pm or by appointment
Orzechowicz, David
  • Lecturer
djorzechowicz@ucdavis.edu
SSH 2249
By appointment only.
Robert, Ellen
  • Lecturer
errobert@ucdavis.edu
2262 SS&H
Monday 2:30 to 4:00 and by appointment
Ruiz, Miguel maruiz@ucdavis.edu
254 SS&H
Tuesday & Thursday 3:15-4:15 or by appointment
Sweet, Elizabeth
  • Lecturer
evsweet@ucdavis.edu
2249 SS&H
Wednesday and Friday 8:30a-9:30a By appointment
Graduate Students
Acosta, Lauren
  • Graduate Student
lmacosta@ucdavis.edu
SSB 284
Wednesday 1:00pm - 3:00pm
Alston-Stepnitz, Eli
  • Graduate Student
ecalstonstepnitz@ucdavis.edu
Arseo, Sean
  • Graduate Student
searseo@ucdavis.edu
SS&H 290
M: 2:00PM-4:00PM SS&H 290* *time and location subject to change
Baker, Zeke
  • Graduate Student
ejbaker@ucdavis.edu
292 SS&H
3:30-4:30pm, SS/H 292 or by appointment
Boylan, Elizabeth
  • Graduate Student
  • GSR LGBTQIA Resource Center
eaboylan@ucdavis.edu
LGBTQIARC & 258 SS&H
LGBTQIARC Wed 12pm-2pm, or by appointment
Breuninger, Emily
  • Graduate Student/ TA
ebreuninger@ucdavis.edu
SS&H 284
Monday 2-4pm, or by appointment
Buchanan, Brandon
  • Graduate Student
bkbuchanan@ucdavis.edu
250 SS&H
Monday and Wednesday 3:30pm-4:30pm
Caldeira, Chris
  • Graduate Student
ccaldeira@ucdavis.edu
250 SS&H
N/A
Carter, Angela
  • Graduate Student
ancarter@ucdavis.edu
278 SS&H
by appointment only
Caviness, Courtney
  • Graduate Student
ccaviness@ucdavis.edu
280 SS&H
SOC 1 | Intro to Sociology: Tuesdays 12:30-1:30; Wednesdays 1:00-2:00
Chen , Jingjing 陈晶晶
  • Graduate Student
ajjchen@ucdavis.edu
286 SS&H
Tuesday 8:00-9:00am, 286 SS&H Wednesday 12:20-1:20pm, 286 SS&H
Clark, Bridget
  • Graduate Student
baclar@ucdavis.edu
258 SS&H
Wednesdays 10:00am- 12:00pm, or by appointment
Doan, Connelly
  • Graduate Student
cmdoan@ucdavis.edu
SS&H 288
Tuesday 12:00-2:00 or by appointment
Evans, Ethan
  • PhD Candidate
ejevans@ucdavis.edu
254 SS&H
Tues & Thurs 12:00-1:00 pm
Feldman, Valerie
  • PhD Candidate
vafeldman@ucdavis.edu
254 SS&H
By appointment only
Felice, Samantha
  • Graduate Student
slfelice@ucdavis.edu
290 SS&H
Monday 12:45pm - 1:45pm Tuesday 12:00pm - 1:00pm
Fields, Christine
  • Graduate Student
cvfields@ucdavis.edu
SS&H 286
Wednesdays 2-4PM
Florence, Chelsi
  • Graduate Student
ccflorence@ucdavis.edu
SS&H 294
By appointment
Fortes, Carmen
  • PhD Candidate
cefortes@ucdavis.edu
254 SS&H
Wednesday 2:00-3:00 or by appointment
Geer, Shaun
  • Graduate Student
sgeer@ucdavis.edu
294 SS&H
257 SS&H
Glennie, Charlotte
  • Graduate Student
cfglennie@ucdavis.edu
290 SS&H
Gold, Jessica
  • Graduate Student
jrgold@ucdavis.edu
292 SS&H
Monday 12:00pm - 2:00 pm
Hale, Jo
  • PhD Candidate
Johale@ucdavis.edu
280 SS&H
Block Grant O.H. by appt.
Halpin, Brian
  • PHD Candidate
bwhalpin@ucdavis.edu
280 SS&H
by appointment
Haraway, Sam
  • PhD Candidate
sqharaway@ucdavis.edu
258 SS&H
By appointment
Hart, Beth
  • Graduate Student
eahart@ucdavis.edu
286 SS&H
By appointment.
Hayes, Joshua
  • Graduate Student, Lecturer
hayes@ucdavis.edu
252 SS&H
Mondays and Wednesdays from 4:00 - 5:00 PM, and always available by appointment.
Huang, Po-Chun
  • Graduate Student
stvhuang@ucdavis.edu
288 SS&H
Monday & Wednesday 11:00am - 12:00pm & by appointment
Jaeger, Ashlyn
  • Graduate Student
amjaeger@ucdavis.edu
294 SS&H
Thurs 2-3pm and by appointment in SS&H 294
Jeffrey, Phyllis
  • PhD Candidate
phjeffrey@ucdavis.edu
254 SS&H
Monday 6:15-7:15pm Wednesday 10:30-11:30am
Kolber, J
  • Graduate Student
jkolber@ucdavis.edu
290 SS&H
Monday 2-4pm
Kutzleb, Jennifer
  • PhD Candidate
jjkutzleb@ucdavis.edu
282 SS&H
by appointment
Lauteria, Evan
  • Graduate Student
ewlauteria@ucdavis.edu
250 SS&H
Tuesdays, 10:30am-11:30am (or by email appointment)
Lawrence, Christopher
  • Graduate Student
cjlaw@ucdavis.edu
Mabry, Dustin
  • Graduate Student, Adjunct Instructor in Sociology at Berkeley City College.
dmabry@ucdavis.edu
McCarty, Kristin
  • Graduate Student
kmccarty@ucdavis.edu
286 SS&H
Tuesday: 12:15-1:15PM Thursday: 3:15-4:15PM
Meagher, Kelsey
  • Ph.D. Candidate
kdmeagher@ucdavis.edu
258 SS&H
By appointment
Menard, Nathen ndmenard@ucdavis.edu
250 SS&H
Mondays-Wednesdays 1-2PM
Miller, Amara
  • Graduate Student
marmiller@ucdavis.edu
288 SS&H
By appointment (email me!)
Moise, Gillian
  • Graduate Student
grmoise@ucdavis.edu
Nguyen, Emerald
  • PhD Candidate
etnguyen@ucdavis.edu
282 Social Science & Humanities
By appointment only.
Nickens, Rachel
  • Graduate Student
renickens@ucdavis.edu
SS&H 278
Wednesday 1:00-3:00 pm Or by appointment
Panger, Kathryn
  • Graduate Student
kepanger@ucdavis.edu
Psick, Zachary
  • Graduate Student
zepsick@ucdavis.edu
Soc 292
Tuesday 3:30 - 4:30 Thursday 3:30 - 4:30
Root, Karin
  • PhD Candidate
keroot@ucdavis.edu
256 SS&H
N/A
Rossi, Michelle
  • Graduate Student
micro@ucdavis.edu
SS&H 284
Thurs 2:00pm - 4:00pm in SS&H 284
Rullo, Joanna
  • Graduate Student
jmrullo@ucdavis.edu
280 SS&H
Tuesday and Thursday 4-5pm
Ryan, Krysti
  • Graduate Student
knhilton@ucdavis.edu
278 SS&H
by apt.
Savinar, Robin
  • Graduate Student
rlsavinar@ucdavis.edu
252 SS&H
By appointment
Smith, Julianne
  • Graduate Student
jusmith@ucdavis.edu
290 SS&H
No office hours this quarter.
Thompson, Matthew
  • Graduate Student
mthomp@ucdavis.edu
SS&H 292
By Appointment
TyreeHageman, Jennifer
  • PhD Candidate
  • Graduate Student Researcher
  • Plug-In Hybrid & Electric Vehicle Research Center, UC Davis
jthageman@ucdavis.edu
282 SS&H
Wednesday 10:00am - 12:00pm Tuesdays, Wednesdays, and Thursdays by appointment
Wright, Duane dewright@ucdavis.edu
294 SS&H
Tuesday 2-3, Wednesday 3-4
Zhang, Jing
  • Graduate Student
soczhang@ucdavis.edu
286 SS&H
N/A
Emeriti
Cohen, Larry
  • Professor Emeritus
lecohen@ucdavis.edu
2240 SS&H
MWF 10-11am, or by appt
Cramer, Jim
  • Professor Emeritus
jcramer@ucdavis.edu
1282 SS&H
N/A
Hall, John
  • Research Professor
jrhall@ucdavis.edu
2246 Social Science/Humanities
By appointment via email.
Joffe, Carole
  • Professor Emerita
cejoffe@ucdavis.edu
1282 SS&H
N/A
Jorgensen, Carl
  • Professor Emeritus
ccjorgensen@ucdavis.edu
1292 SS&H
Please email for appointment
Lofland, John
  • Professor Emeritus
jflofland@ucdavis.edu
Lofland, Lyn
  • Professor Emerita
lhlofland@ucdavis.edu
N/A
Walton, John
  • Professor Emeritus
jtwalton@ucdavis.edu
N/A
Associated Faculty
Biggart, Nicole
  • Director & Professor/Dean Emerita - Energy Efficiency Center
  • Professor of Management - Graduate School of Management
  • Chevron Chair in Energy Efficiency
nwbiggart@ucdavis.edu
Craig, Maxine
  • Professor, Gender, Sexuality and Women’s Studies Program
mbcraig@ucdavis.edu
3127 Hart Hall
Guarnizo, Luis
  • Professor, Human and Community Development
leguarnizo@ucdavis.edu
Kaiser, Susan
  • Professor and Director, Women and Gender Studies
  • Professor, Textiles and Clothing
sbkaiser@ucdavis.edu
Lacy, William
  • Vice Provost and Professor, Human and Community Development
wblacy@ucdavis.edu
Niemeier, Debbie
  • Civil and Environmental Engineering
dniemeier@ucdavis.edu
Rodriguez, Robyn
  • Associate Professor, Asian American Studies
rrodriguez@ucdavis.edu
Research Professors
Block, Fred
  • Research Professor
flblock@ucdavis.edu
2266 SS&H
Wednesday 2:00-4:00 when I am not traveling.
Hall, John
  • Research Professor
jrhall@ucdavis.edu
2246 Social Science/Humanities
By appointment via email.
Jackman, Mary
  • Research Professor
mrjackman@ucdavis.edu
2245 SS&H
Winter 2013: T 3:00-5:00
On The Job Market
Becker, Jaime
  • Lecturer
jsbecker@ucdavis.edu
2273 SS&H
Tuesdays 3-5pm or by appt
Gutierrez, Timothy
  • Lecturer
tsgutierrez@ucdavis.edu
2249 SS&H
Tuesday/Thursday from 3-4pm & by appointment
Hernandez, Jesus
  • Lecturer
jchernandez@ucdavis.edu
252 SS&H
Monday, Wednesday 2:00pm - 4:00pm or by appt.
McCoy, Jabou
  • Lecturer
jtmccoy@ucdavis.edu
2273 SS&H
Wednesdays 10:30-12:30pm or by appointment
Orzechowicz, David
  • Lecturer
djorzechowicz@ucdavis.edu
SSH 2249
By appointment only.
Ruiz, Miguel maruiz@ucdavis.edu
254 SS&H
Tuesday & Thursday 3:15-4:15 or by appointment
Sweet, Elizabeth
  • Lecturer
evsweet@ucdavis.edu
2249 SS&H
Wednesday and Friday 8:30a-9:30a By appointment
Sociology

1283 Social Sciences & 
Humanities 
University of California, 
Davis 
One Shields Avenue 
Davis, CA 95616

(530) 752-0782 phone
(530) 752-0783 fax

Map and Additional Contact Information

Make a Gift

Giving matters at UC Davis. For more than a century, donors have been helping the university address the issues that matter most to California, the nation and the world.  The Department of Sociology is dedicated to achieving excellence. Your gift can help.

Make a gift