Department Awards and Citations

The UC Davis Department of Sociology has established awards to recognize outstanding undergraduate students.
Students graduating with citations for outstanding achievement


Undergraduate Outstanding Senior Award

This award is given to one student in the Department of Sociology, based on faculty nominations for students who demonstrated excellent academic achievement, outstanding contribution to the academic environment through active involvement with faculty and fellow students, and demonstrated leadership. Recipients are honored at the Office of Undergraduate Education Award Ceremony.

2019 recipient:

  • Lauren Ashley Wong

Department Citations

This campus award is reserved for students in their senior year who not only have maintained a 3.60 major GPA, but also have made substantial contributions to the department. The following students will receive recognition for this honor on the official spring commencement program.

2019 recipients:

  • Lauren Ashley Wong
  • Ceara Stephenson Brashears
  • Heather Amanda van Buskirk
  • Megan Joy West
  • Taylor Aurora Begin
  • Simran J Giri
  • Stephanie Viviana Zambrano
  • Julienne Alexis D Correa

Citation for Outstanding Performance

This campus award is reserved for students of true distinction in an academic department who have maintained a 3.60 major GPA or higher and have shown superior academic promise and achievement. Students who are presented this award are recognized in the official spring commencement program.

2019 recipients:

  • Caitlin Heather Pasturel
  • Ashley Ann Cabrera
  • Cierra Ann Bordwine
  • Kaitlin Donovan
  • Se Lahn Kim
  • Cassidy Annmarie Kays
  • Ashley Rose West
  • Eduardo Florentino Guitierrez
  • Ingrid Su Chang
  • Isabel Wahono
  • Lauren Margaret Jaech
  • Maya Rainey
  • Kathryn R McCarty
  • Maranda Roxanne Starkweather
  • Elizabeth Marie Williamson
  • Simranreet Kaur Sahota
  • Alondra Elena Castellanos Gutierrez
  • Hannah Mae Roberts
  • Ariana Ofelia Devincezi
  • Quincy David Cavell Boyle
  • Sanha Jo Ali
  • Lily Ann Rudakov
  • Megan Aimee Mekelburg
  • Juan Carlos Quero
  • Tiffay Hiu-Ying Sung